Social top


Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium 2012

Symposium Overview

A co-presentation of the Canadian Electroacoustic Community (CEC) and New Adventures in Sound Art (NAISA), the 6th Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium (TES) was held in parallel with the 14th edition of Sound Travels, NAISA’s annual Festival of Sound Art. The Keynote Speaker for TES 2012 was Trevor Wishart.

TES 2012
15–18 August 2012
Artscape Wychwood Barns
601 Christie Street, Toronto ON

Call for Submissions
Schedule Summary | Organisation
Detailled Symposium Schedule
Abstracts + Bios | Programme Notes + Bios
2-page printable event / info summary (PDF)

Schedule Summary

Click a session or concert to jump to the detailled schedule listing papers and works presented and for further links to abstracts, programme notes and biographies.

Opening — Wednesday, August 15

18:00–20:00 • Reception and Registration
20:00–22:00 • Symposium Concert #1

Day 1 — Thursday, August 16th

09:30–10:00 • Opening Remarks
10:00–11:30 • Paper Session #1: Live Practice and Global Perspectives | Session Chair: Steven Naylor
11:45–12:30 • Listening Session #1
14:00–15:30 • Paper Session #2: Process, Practice and Collaboration | Session Chair: Mitch Renaud
15:45–17:15 • Paper Session #3: Research Frontiers | Session Chair: Kevin Austin
20:00–22:00 • Symposium Concert #2

Day 2 — Friday, August 17th

09:30–11:00 • Keynote Address: Trevor Wishart
11:30–12:30 • Listening Session #2
14:00–15:00 • Paper Session #4: Theoretical Perspectives | Session Chair: Ian Jarvis
15:00–15:45 • Listening Session #3
16:00–17:30 • Paper Session #5: Approaches to Real-Time, Interactive and Intermedia Work | Session Chair: Emilie LeBel
20:00–22:00 • Sound Travels Concert: Flocking

Day 3 — Saturday, August 18th

09:30–11:30 • Paper Session #6: Creative Practice | Session Chair: Eric Powell
11:45–12:30 • Listening Session #4
14:00–16:00 • 2nd Special Session on Participatory Electronic Ensemble Performance (PEEP) | Session Chair: David Ogborn
16:00–16:30 • Listening Session #5: (MiND)
16:30–17:30 • Closing Discussion and CEC Annual General Meeting
20:00–22:00 • Sound Travels Concert: Encounters (Wishart)


Review Committee / Comité de sélection

Emilie LeBel, Chair of Symposium Committee (University of Toronto)
Kevin Austin (Concordia University)
Christina Baade (McMaster University
David Cecchetto (Ontario College of Art and Design University)
Darren Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)
Ricardo Dal Farra (Concordia University)
David Eagle (University of Calgary)
Arne Eigenfeldt (Simon Fraser University)
Ken Fields (University of Calgary)
David Gerhard (University of Regina)
Bentley Jarvis (Ontario College of Art and Design University)
Cort Lippe (University at Buffalo, USA)
Hilary Martin (York University)
Steven Naylor
Katharine Norman (CEC / De Montfort University, UK)
Robert Normandeau (Université de Montréal)
David Ogborn (CEC / McMaster University)
Jean Piché (Université de Montréal)
Laurie Radford (University of Calgary)
Robert Rowe (New York University, USA)
Scott Smallwood (University of Alberta)
Andrew Staniland (Memorial University)
D. Andrew Stewart (University of Lethbridge)
Barry Truax (Simon Fraser University)
Eldad Tsabary (CEC / Concordia University)

Organising Committee / Comité d’organisation

Emilie LeBel, Chair of Symposium Committee (University of Toronto)
Kevin Austin (CEC / Concordia University)
Darren Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)
Nadene Thériault-Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)

Links / Liens

Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium
New Adventures in Sound Art
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne / Canadian Electroacoustic Community
Artscape Wychwood Barns

Social bottom