Social top


Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium 2012

Call for Submissions /
Appel à présentations et compositions

Toronto, 15–18 August 2012

The Canadian Electroacoustic Community (CEC) and New Adventures in Sound Art (NAISA) are pleased to announce the 2012 edition of the Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium (TES). TES has become a consistently creative and cohesive point of contact between diverse electroacoustic (EA) communities and the Toronto scene.

We are now inviting proposals for papers, compositions and performances (deadline: 23 April 2012).

The 2012 symposium is the sixth annual iteration of this important opportunity for exchange between diverse EA communities. In recent years, a number of themes have emerged, among them laptop orchestras and electronic ensembles, exchanges between popular and “unpopular” traditions, “Sound plus Image”, and telematic performances. Proposed presentations and performances / screenings related to the theme “Near and Far — Inner and Outer Sound Places” are especially welcome! [See submission details below]

The symposium will take place in Toronto at New Adventures in Sound Art’s facilities at the Artscape Wychwood Barns, from 15–18 August 2012.

As in preceding years, the symposium leads directly into the main concert weekend of the annual Sound Travels Festival of Sound Art. The 2012 edition of Sound Travels will explore emerging trends alongside established traditions in electroacoustic music and will be presented on NAISA’s real-time spatialization system. At the heart of the symposium will be a keynote lecture by Trevor Wishart, Sound Travels’ featured artist.

All symposium contributions will be webcast live, and text proceedings will be published in a forthcoming issue of the CEC’s online journal, eContact! Please see below for specific guidelines on paper, composition and performance submissions.

We look forward to seeing you, your colleagues, collaborators and students in Toronto in August!

Important Information / Infos importantes


23 April Deadline for receipt of proposals @ 11:59 PM EST
18 May Notification of acceptance
15 August Symposium opening reception and concert
15–16 August Symposium concerts
16–18 August Symposium sessions
17–18 August Sound Travels Festival concerts

Fees / Frais

Symposium registration fees (General): $70 (includes admission to all concerts)
Symposium registration fees (Student): $35 (includes admission to all concerts)

Questions and requests for further information should be directed to Emilie LeBel at: emilie@ceceproductions.ca

Submissions / Soumissions

Papers / Présentations

Papers are to be presented in 20 minutes, followed by 10 minutes of questions and discussion. We are especially interested in paper submissions dealing with the theme “Near and Far — Inner and Outer Sound Places”. However, proposals related to any aspect of EA practice (broadly conceived, including EA practice as a part of popular music, media art and other disciplines) are welcome.

Please specify any and all technical requirements at the time of submission. An 8.1 multichannel system is available for use during paper sessions.

Submit a 500–1000 word abstract, and a biography of 250 words or less, to the symposium’s Review Committee at:


Compositions / Performances

Compositions and performances will be presented in two possible formats, at the discretion of the committee — in a concert setting or during lecture-listening sessions alongside paper presentations. Registration and attendance at the symposium is a requirement for the presentation of compositions / performances. Preference will be given to compositions by composers who are attending the symposium to present a paper or who indicate that they are prepared to lead æsthetic and / or analytical discussion of their piece in the context of a lecture-listening session.

Please specify any and all technical requirements for the performance at the time of submission. A 16.1 multichannel system and HD video projection is available for use during concerts and lecture-listening sessions. Where live electronic and / or live performance elements are involved, it is expected that such elements will be provided by symposium participants.

The following materials should be prepared and submitted to the symposium’s Review Committee on the submission page <http://naisa.ca/tes-submit-piece.php>:


Review Committee / Comité de sélection

Emilie LeBel, Chair of Symposium Committee (University of Toronto)
Kevin Austin (Concordia University)
Christina Baade (McMaster University
David Cecchetto (Ontario College of Art and Design University)
Darren Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)
Ricardo Dal Farra (Concordia University)
David Eagle (University of Calgary)
Arne Eigenfeldt (Simon Fraser University)
Ken Fields (University of Calgary)
David Gerhard (University of Regina)
Bentley Jarvis (Ontario College of Art and Design University)
Cort Lippe (University at Buffalo, USA)
Hilary Martin (York University)
Steven Naylor
Katharine Norman (CEC / De Montfort University, UK)
Robert Normandeau (Université de Montréal)
David Ogborn (CEC / McMaster University)
Jean Piché (Université de Montréal)
Laurie Radford (University of Calgary)
Robert Rowe (New York University, USA)
Scott Smallwood (University of Alberta)
Andrew Staniland (Memorial University)
D. Andrew Stewart (University of Lethbridge)
Barry Truax (Simon Fraser University)
Eldad Tsabary (CEC / Concordia University)

Organising Committee / Comité d’organisation

Emilie LeBel, Chair of Symposium Committee (University of Toronto)
Kevin Austin (CEC / Concordia University)
Darren Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)
Nadene Thériault-Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)

Links / Liens

Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium
New Adventures in Sound Art
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne / Canadian Electroacoustic Community
Artscape Wychwood Barns


Social bottom