Social top


eFlash! 2014-09

2014 AGM — Annual General Meeting / AGA 2014 — Assemblée générale annuelle

President’s Report / Rapport du président

return to the index / Agenda ]

I am happy to report another solid year with a stable service to the Canadian and international EA community, and with solid finances that prepare us well for important upcoming projects, including a revamp of SONUS, the CEC’s free electroacoustic jukebox.


With steady work by jef chippewa and Yves Gigon and with contributions from guest editors, eContact! continues to be a solid research, art and education resource for the international EA community — within and beyond academia. eContact! is available free at cec.sonus.ca/econtact. Please share with your colleagues and students.

Since the previous AGM, three eContact! issues have been published:

15.3 — CEC@25: The CEC’s 25th Anniversary Tour / Tournée 25e anniversaire de la CEC

This is a fully bilingual issue, documenting the celebratory 25th anniversary tour that took place in nine cities across Canada. This issue also marks the launch of the CEC’s YouTube channel, which includes 60 videos from the tour (seminars, talks, interviews, performances).

15.4 — Videomusic: Overview of an Emerging Art Form / Vidéomusique : aperçu d’une pratique artistique émergente

Keeping up with current trends, this issue includes articles about videomusic — a subset of visual music, with an editorial by Joseph Hyde. Among other articles, the issue also includes an important historical summary of visual music by Maura McDonnell, which puts this broad and diverse field in context.

16.1 — Jeu de Temps / Times Play 2013 (JTTP 2013)

This is the annual issue promoting works of JTTP winners and participants.

Issues scheduled for the near future include issue 16.2 with the theme of Sound Art and Interactivity in Singapore with guest editor PerMagnus Lindborg, followed by proceedings of the 2013 Toronto International Electroacoustic Symposium (TIES) in issue 16.3, with Guest Editor Emilie LeBel, and an issue on Experimental Practices and Subversion in Sound (16.4), with Guest Editor Karin Weissenbrunner.

JTTP 2014

I wish to congratulate the six winners of this year’s Jeu de temps / Times Play (there was a tie for 5th place this year):

1. Line Katcho — Aiguillage [Switches & Crossings] (2013)
2. Pierre-Luc Lecours — Impacts discrets (2014)
3. Guillaume Côté — La gerçure des alentours (2014)
4. Fernando Alexis Franco Murillo — Qualia (2013)
5. (ex æquo) Sébastien Lavoie — Summer, The Third of the 4 Seasons (2012)
5. (ex æquo) Guillaume Barrette — Résurgence (2012)

These results and promotion will be published in eContact! 17.1.


The CEC’s finances continue to be very stable, with support from the Writing & Publishing section of the Canada Council for the Arts for upcoming eContact! issues, ten years of Core Funding by the SOCAN Foundation, and stable CEC membership (which is the third most important financial contributor).

More specific information is available in the treasurer’s report.


The CEC’s jukebox — the largest of its kind — will go through a foundational revamp this year. Discussions have begun about the vision behind its upgrade and we expect to complete substantial work in the upcoming year. We welcome input from all CEC members about necessary and recommended features.

Toronto International Electroacoustic Symposium (TIES) 2014

I wish to extend my gratitude to Emilie LeBel for continuing to lead this important conference. TIES continues to grow more international, more diverse, and more recognized.

I wish to extend our warmest thanks to NAISA for providing a home to TIES since its first days and for all the moral and logistical support. We are delighted to welcome CMC as collaborator this year, with huge thanks to Ontario regional director Matthew Fava.

This year’s conference is very strong, and having Pauline Oliveros as Keynote Speaker and a special session in honour of Hugh Le Caine makes for a particularly memorable event.


In completion of my first year as president of the board, I would like to express my deepest thanks to the wide CEC community and membership for its support. The CEC continues to thrive because of you.

As always, I wish to commend the CEC’s Administrative co-Directors jef chippewa and Yves Gigon who drive this organization purposefully, efficiently, safely and pleasantly!

An enormous gratitude to members of the newly formed CEC council for diversifying the views on emerging matters and assisting in providing ideas and solutions and maintaining the CEC’s vision. And finally, a round of applause to the CEC board members for sharing their knowledge, experience, passion and commitment to the international EA Community.

The CEC Board for the 2014–15 fiscal year is as follows [years indicate current terms]:

President: Eldad Tsabary (Montréal) 2014–16
Vice-President: Carey Dodge (Vancouver) 2013–15
Secretary: Jean Routhier (Vancouver) 2013–15
Treasurer: Shawn Pinchbeck (Edmonton) 2014–16
Members at Large: Laurie Radford (Calgary) 2014–16, Emilie LeBel (Toronto) 2013–15

The CEC remains committed to strengthening the EA community in Canada and globally, its artists, researchers, institutions and students. It is a field that thrives on diversity, collaboration and innovation.

Eldad Tsabary
President of the CEC Board
Toronto, Thursday, 14 August 2014

Social bottom