Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca

Works » By Title » M » Motility (43:03 / 1968-69, rev. 1986)

Michael Horwood

Motility is a two-channel stereo tape composition. It was originally created for campus radio broadcast on my free-form radio program, Ad lib. At that time, since the radio station only broadcasted in mono, I wasn’t too concerned about stereo separation. Therefore, I kept left/right differences fairly basic. The original 1968-69 version used only one bass drum (L) and cymbal (R) plus the foreground harpsichord. This version lasted about fifty minutes. In the current revision, the sound sources were updated to include an additional bass drum and suspended cymbal.

The title is a biological term referring to the motion of one-celled animal life (the amœba, the paramecium, and other protozoa) in a hydrous environment. This is what the music is intended to depict, and it is, consequently, programmatic. Therefore, two ideas are essential to the work’s content: the motion of unicellular animals and their water environment. Motion is portrayed by the harpsichord in varying degrees of activity. It is the foreground and centre of focus just as one would see in a microscope while observing the life forms. The harpsichord part is an edited version of an extended solo improvisation. Some features developed during this improvisation include variation on one or a few motives, register, texture, ritardando/accelerando, tone clusters, attack, and decay. These features are further exploited and manipulated for the final mix. For example, the “foreign” quality of this hidden world is conveyed by the simple, yet impressive effects of combining forward and backward playback of the harpsichord part and channel shifting. Occasional pitch flutters are produced by intentionally bad tape splices which allow the tape to “catch” during playback. Even the “clicks” which result when the fingers release the harpsichord’s keys are intentionally left in for their sound effect.

The ever-present water environment is portrayed by the background percussion tracks. These parts consist of continuous rolls on the cymbals and bass drums throughout the entire piece, varying only in volume. The cymbal tracks are played back at half speed and recorded independently. In the revised version, each channel has a bass drum and cymbal. Motility can be heard as an extension of those musics involving drones. Simply put, it combines static background (percussion) with active foreground (harpsichord). The music evolves slowly and culminates in a huge double climax near the end of the piece. Motility should be listened to with a moderately loud playback level. On less than adequate systems, the bass will need boosting.

Finally, but not least, “Motility” is dedicated to William Thiele, the percussionist for the original version, and my other colleagues of that time, all of whom exhibited the good friendship and humour that was so much needed in those special, yet difficult university years. The original version and realization was done at Baird Recital Hall, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1968-69. The 1986 revision was done at The Music Gallery, Toronto, Ontario, May, 1986. “Motility” was recorded and revised in January of 1986.

  • Studio: Original version and realization: Baird Recital Hall, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1968-69. 1986 revision: Music Gallery (Toronto ON, May 1986). Recorded and revised in January of 1986.
  • Premiere: Music Gallery (Toronto, Ontario), 16-iv-1988

Radio CAP: Motility

If you see this text, it means Adobe Flash is not currently installed in your browser, or your version is too old, or JavaScript is not activated. A current version of Adobe Flash is necessary to use the Radio application. Download the latest version of Adobe Flash.
Page oeuvre@40840 generated by litk 0.600 on Tuesday, January 11, 2011. Development: DIM.

CEC
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca

Œuvres » Par titre » M » Motility (43:03 / 1968-69, rev. 1986)

Michael Horwood

« Motility » est une composition pour deux voies stéréo, créée à l’origine pour être diffusée dans le cadre de l’émission « Ad lib » que je réalisais pour la radio universitaire. Comme la radio diffusait uniquement en mono à l’époque, je ne me préoccupais pas beaucoup de la séparation stéréophonique, comme en fait foi la séparation gauche-droite relativement élémentaire dans cette pièce. La version originale de 1968-69 comprenait des sons de grosse caisse (gauche) et de cymbale (droite) en plus du clavecin à l’avant-plan. La pièce durait environ 50 minutes. Pour cette version révisée, d’autres sons de grosse caisse et de cymbale suspendue ont été ajoutés au matériau source.

Le titre, emprunté à la biologie, fait référence au mouvement des organismes unicellulaires (amibe, paramécie, protozoaire) dans un milieu hydrique. C’est ce que la musique doit représenter, ce qui en fait une œuvre programmatique. Deux idées sont essentielles dans la pièce : le mouvement des organismes unicellulaires et le milieu hydrique. Le clavecin représente le mouvement des organismes, à des degrés d’activité variés ; il est le centre d’attention, à l’avant-plan, comme lorsque l’on regarde des formes de vie au microscope. La partie de clavecin est extraite d’une longue improvisation solo, au cours de laquelle se développent des variations sur quelques motifs et un jeu sur le registre, la texture, les ritardando et accelerando, les agrégats sonores, l’attaque et l’extinction. Ces caractéristiques font l’objet de manipulations supplémentaires lors du mixage final. Par exemple, la qualité d’« étrangeté » de ce monde caché est produite par la combinaison de directions opposées de lecture (normale et inversée) de la partie de clavecin et les déplacements sur les voies de mixages. Des effets de scintillement ou de fluctuation de hauteur sont produits volontairement à l’aide d’épissures ou de joints de mauvaise qualité qui nuisent au défilement du ruban à la lecture. Même les « clics » produits lorsque les doigts se retirent des touches du clavecin ont été laissés pour leur effet sonore.

Le milieu hydrique, omniprésent, est représenté par des roulements continus sur les cymbales et la grosse caisse que l’on entend tout au long de la pièce et qui varient seulement en intensité. Les pistes de cymbales sont lues à la moitié de la vitesse et ont été enregistrées séparément. Dans la version révisée, chaque canal compte une grosse caisse et une cymbale. « Motility » peut être considérée comme un prolongement de l’idée de pièces à sons-pédales (drone). Pour le dire simplement, elle combine un arrière-plan statique (percussion) et un avant-plan actif (clavecin). La musique se développe lentement et culmine dans un double climax près de la fin. La pièce devrait être écoutée à un niveau d’intensité modéré. Sur une chaîne audio de moindre qualité, les basses fréquences devront être renforcées.

« Motility » est dédiée à William Thiele, le percussionniste qui a participé à la version originale, ainsi qu’à mes autres collègues de l’époque, dont l’amitié et l’humour étaient indispensables en ces années universitaires si particulières et difficiles. La version originale a été réalisée et diffusée au Bard Recital Hall de la State University of New York, à Buffalo en 1968-69. La version révisée a été enregistrée en janvier 1986 et diffusée à la Music Gallery de Toronto (Ontario), en mai 1986.

Traduction: Yves Charuest

  • Studio: Original version and realization: Baird Recital Hall, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1968-69. 1986 revision: Music Gallery (Toronto ON, May 1986). Recorded and revised in January of 1986.
  • Création: Music Gallery (Toronto, Ontario), 16-iv-1988

Radio PAC: Motility

Si vous voyez ce texte, c’est qu’Adobe Flash n’est pas installé dans votre navigateur ou que votre version n’est pas à jour, ou que JavaScript n’est pas activé. Une version courante d’Adobe Flash est nécessaire afin d’utiliser l’application Radio. Télécharger la dernière version d’Adobe Flash.
Page oeuvre@40840 générée par litk 0.600 le mardi 11 janvier 2011. Conception: DIM.