CEC
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca

Composers » H » Michael Horwood (1947)

  • Residence: Cowley, AB, Canada

Michæl S. Horwood (Buffalo NY, 1947) studied music composition and theory at the State University of New York at Buffalo with Lejaren Hiller, Lukas Foss, and Istvan Anhalt, receiving his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees (1969, 1971). In 1971 he moved to Canada and from 1972-2003 was a professor of music and humanities at Humber College of Applied Arts and Technology in Toronto.

During the latter half of the 1970s, Horwood formed Convergence, an improvisation ensemble in which he played piano and percussion. In 2003 he retired from teaching and with his wife moved to Cowley, Alberta. His more than 70 compositions constitute a kaleidoscope of the traditional and the avant-garde spanning a wide variety of contemporary idioms including 12-tone, theatre pieces, electroacoustic (both live and pre-recorded), jazz, minimalism and neo-romanticism. He has written for conventional ensembles, unusual instrumental combinations and even flexible scoring. Among his most successful works have been those which involve extra-musical concepts such as his chamber works “Birds” (1979) and “Nervous Disorder” (1988), the electroacoustic work “Motility” (rev. 1986), and the orchestral works “Amusement Park Suite” (1986), “National Park Suite” (1991), and “Symphony No. 2, Visions of a Wounded Earth” (1995).

[CEC / Concordia Archival Project (CAP), 2008]

List of Works

Radio CAP: Michael Horwood

If you see this text, it means Adobe Flash is not currently installed in your browser, or your version is too old, or JavaScript is not activated. A current version of Adobe Flash is necessary to use the Radio application. Download the latest version of Adobe Flash.
Page bio@CP-0877 generated by litk 0.600 on Tuesday, January 11, 2011. Development: DIM.

CEC
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca
  • Résidence: Cowley, AB, Canada

Michæl S. Horwood (Buffalo NY, 1947) a étudié la composition et la théorie musicale à la State University of New York de Buffalo avec Lejaren Hiller, Lukas Foss et Istvan Anhalt. Il a obtenu son baccalauréat en 1969 et sa maîtrise en 1971. Il est parti vivre au Canada en 1971 et a été professeur au Humber College of Applied Arts and Technology à Toronto de 1972 à 2003.

Horwood a formé l’ensemble de musique improvisée Convergence vers la fin des années 1970, au sein duquel il jouait du piano et des percussions. En 2003, il s’est retiré de l’enseignement et est déménagé à Cowley en Alberta avec sa femme. Il a composé plus de 70 œuvres qui couvrent une grande diversité d’idiomes contemporains : musique dodécaphonique, pour le théâtre, électroacoustique (en direct et préenregistrée), jazz, musique minimaliste et néo-romantique. Il a écrit pour des ensembles plus conventionnels, des instrumentations inhabituelles et des partitions pour instrumentation variable. Ses pièces basées sur des concepts extramusicaux comptent parmi ses œuvres les plus réussies, parmi lesquelles « Birds » (1979) et « Nervous Disorder » (1988), la pièce électroacoustique « Motility » (rev. 1986), ainsi que les pièces orchestrales « Amusement Park Suite » (1986), « National Park Suite » (1991) et « Symphony No. 2, Visions of a Wounded Earth » (1995).

[CEC / Concordia Archival Project (CAP), 2008]

Traduction: Yves Charuest

Liste d’œuvres

Radio PAC: Michael Horwood

Si vous voyez ce texte, c’est qu’Adobe Flash n’est pas installé dans votre navigateur ou que votre version n’est pas à jour, ou que JavaScript n’est pas activé. Une version courante d’Adobe Flash est nécessaire afin d’utiliser l’application Radio. Télécharger la dernière version d’Adobe Flash.
Page bio@CP-0877 générée par litk 0.600 le mardi 11 janvier 2011. Conception: DIM.