Social top


Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium 2013

Symposium Overview

TES 2013 is a co-presentation of the Canadian Electroacoustic Community (CEC) and New Adventures in Sound Art (NAISA) and is held in parallel with the 15th edition of Sound Travels, NAISA’s annual Festival of Sound Art. The Keynote Speaker for TES 2013 is Francis Dhomont.

All activities take place at Theatre Direct’s Wychwood Theatre unless otherwise indicated ], in the Artscape Wychwood Barns
601 Christie Street — Studio 176, Toronto [ Google maps ]

Registration — includes entry to all concerts [ register now ]
Webcast — Listen in to all events on a live stream.

Questions about the schedule or any other aspect of the symposium can be directed by email to Emilie LeBel, Chair of the symposium committee. For any registration or Sound Travels questions, contact Nadene Thériault-Copeland.

Call for Submissions
Schedule Summary | Directions | Organisation
Detailed Symposium Schedule
Abstracts + Bios | Programme Notes + Bios
TES 2013 event / info summary (PDF)

Schedule Summary

Click on a date to jump to the detailed schedule page which lists all papers and works presented and for further links to abstracts, programme notes and biographies.

Day 1 — Wednesday 14 August

[ Schedule subject to change ]

18:00–20:00 • Opening Reception, Registration + Installations [NAISA Space (Studio #252)]
20:00–22:00 • Symposium Concert #1
22:00–00:00 • Symposium Dinner [ Sold out! ]

Day 2 — Thursday 15 August

09:30–10:45 • Session #1: Creative Practices
11:00–12:30 • Keynote Lecture: Francis Dhomont
14:00–15:15 • Symposium Concert #2
15:30–16:30 • Session #2: Tools!
16:30–17:00 • CEC — Preliminary General Meeting [ NAISA Space (Studio #252) ]
18:30–20:00 • Installations [ NAISA Space (Studio #252) ]
20:00–22:00 • Symposium Concert #3

Day 3 — Friday 16 August

09:30–11:00 • Session #3: Form and Function in EA
11:15–12:30 • Session #4: Creative Practices 2 — Data Manipulation and Generation
14:00–15:15 • Symposium Concert #4
15:30–16:30 • Session #5: EA Outside the Concert Hall
18:30–20:00 • Installations [NAISA Space (Studio #252)]
20:00–22:00 • Sound Travels Concert #1: Places Real and Imagined

Day 4 — Saturday 17 August

08:00–13:00 • Farmer’s Market in the Barns!
09:30–11:00 • Session #6: Networked and Open Source Creative Practices
11:15–12:30 • Session #7: Live and Non-Realtime Approaches to Presenting EA Projects
14:00–15:00 • Session #8: Interdisciplinary Practices and Waveform Modulation
15:15–16:45 • Session #9: EA Analysis
17:00–18:00 • CEC — AGM [NAISA Space (Studio #252)]
20:00–22:00 • Sound Travels Concert #2: Places Real and Imagined

10:00–15:00 +
18:30–20:00 • Installations [NAISA Space (Studio #252)]

Post-Symposium — Sunday 18 August

13:00–15:00 • Spatialization Workshop | Host: Darren Copeland

Locations / Directions

All activities take place at Theatre Direct’s Wychwood Theatre:
Artscape Wychwood Barns
601 Christie Street #176 [Google maps], Toronto

If walking: From St. Clair West Subway station walk west to Christie Street and then south to Benson street. Once you pass Benson, you can enter in one of the side doors off either Christie or Wychwood.

If coming by bus: Take the Christie bus either north from Christie Station or south from St. Clair West station and get off at Benson Street. Alternatively you can take the 512 St. Clair streetcar and exit at either St Clair or Wychwood.

If driving: From 401 take the Allen Expressway south to Eglinton. Go west (right) on Eglinton and then South (left) on Oakwood and another quick left onto Vaughan Street. Follow Vaughan to St. Clair west and turn west (right) onto St. Clair. Turn south (left) from there onto either Wychwood or Christie. There is street parking on the Christie and Wychwood sides of the building.


Review Committee / Comité de sélection

Emilie LeBel, Chair of Symposium Committee (University of Toronto)
Freida Abtan (Goldsmiths University of London)
Kevin Austin (CEC / Concordia University)
Christina Baade (McMaster University)
Ricardo Dal Farra (Concordia University)
David Eagle (University of Calgary)
Arne Eigenfeldt (Simon Fraser University)
Ken Fields (University of Calgary)
David Gerhard (University of Regina)
James Harley (University of Guelph)
Bentley Jarvis (Ontario College of Art and Design University)
Sherry Lee (University of Toronto)
Elainie Lillios (Bowling Green State University)
Cort Lippe (University at Buffalo, USA)
Hilary Martin (York University)
Steven Naylor (Acadia University)
David Ogborn (CEC / McMaster University)
Shawn Pinchbeck (University of Birmingham)
Laurie Radford (University of Calgary)
Scott Smallwood (University of Alberta)
Andrew Staniland (Memorial University)
D. Andrew Stewart (University of Lethbridge)
Adam Tindale (Ontario College of Art and Design University)
Barry Truax (Simon Fraser University)
Eldad Tsabary (CEC / Concordia University)
John Wynne (University of the Arts London)

Organising Committee / Comité d’organisation

Emilie LeBel, Chair of Symposium Committee (University of Toronto)
Kevin Austin (CEC / Concordia University)
Darren Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)
Nadene Thériault-Copeland (New Adventures in Sound Art)

Volunteers / Bénévoles

Thank you!

Sophie Dupuis (University of Toronto)
Matthew Hills (Concordia University)
Michael Palumbo (Concordia University)

Links / Liens

Toronto Electroacoustic Symposium
New Adventures in Sound Art
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne / Canadian Electroacoustic Community
Artscape Wychwood Barns

Social bottom