CEC
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca

“With Love, 1986, a fantasy for live cello and decorated cello cases, in memory of Myrtle Hollins Adelberg,” by Vivian Adelberg Rudow, composed for live cello and stereo tape, won first prize Bourges 1986 Program. For first performance, the two separate tracks were transmitted to two separate speakers, one inside decorated cello case “Electronic Mom,” the other inside decorated cello case “Electronic Woman,” each designed by Amalie Rothschild, with cellist Paula Skolnick-Virizlay(-Childress) premiere performance and recording.

“Electronic Woman” unmarried, spirited, and flamboyant music was electronically reproduced. Sounds from “Electronic Mom” are recorded spoken thoughts about moms plus music.

Two versions, Non Performance Art version with no cello cases where cellist performs to normal stereo playback, Or, Performance Art version, with two speakers directly behind two (newly) decorated “…Woman” and “…Mom” cello case statues with the cellist performing between, have each produced exciting performances!

Composed in new Baroque style using dialogue as instruments, sentences & phrases in counterpoint, plus spoken words as texture & percussive accent, and emotion used as instrumental ideas, the strength of the work became more important than the original concept of a performance art piece.

The composer hopes “With Love” reminds the listener of their own mother.

  • Studio: Home
  • Awards: First Prize Winner: 14th International Electroacoustic Music Festival, Bourges, 1986, program division.

Radio CAP: With Love, a fantasy for live cello and decorated cello cases (prepared tape), in memory of Myrtle Hollins Adelberg

If you see this text, it means Adobe Flash is not currently installed in your browser, or your version is too old, or JavaScript is not activated. A current version of Adobe Flash is necessary to use the Radio application. Download the latest version of Adobe Flash.
Page oeuvre@42557 generated by litk 0.600 on Tuesday, January 11, 2011. Development: DIM.

CEC
Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca

Avec sa composition pour violoncelle en direct et bande stéréo, « With Love, a fantasy for live cello and decorated cello cases, in memory of Myrtle Hollins Adelberg », Vivian Adelberg Rudow a remporté le premier prix au concours de Bourges de 1986. Lors de la création, les deux pistes étaient transmises séparément à deux hauts-parleurs distincts, un placé dans l’étui de violoncelle décoré « Electronic Mom », l’autre dans l’étui de violoncelle décoré « Electronic Woman ». Les étuis ont été réalisés par Amalie Rothschild et la violoncelliste Paula Skolnick-Virizlay( Childress) a créé l’œuvre lors de la performance et de l’enregistrement.

La musique vive et flamboyante, d’« Electronic Woman » a été reproduite à l’aide de moyens électroniques. Les sons d’« Electronic Mom » consistent en des textes récités au sujet des mères et de la musique.

Deux versions différentes ont été réalisées et ont donné lieu à des performances excitantes : la version « Non Performance Art », sans étui de violoncelle, où la violoncelliste joue avec une diffusion stéréo usuelle, et la version « Performance Art » comprenant deux hauts-parleurs situés derrière deux statues à l’effigie des étuis de violoncelles, de chaque côté de la violoncelliste.

Composée dans un nouveau style baroque où les dialogues deviennent instruments, les phrases deviennent contrepoint, les mots, textures et accents percussifs, et les émotions, des idées instrumentales, la force de l’œuvre est devenue plus importante que le concept original d’une pièce comme performance artistique.

La compositrice souhaite que « With Love » rappelle aux auditeurs leur mère.

Traduction: Yves Charuest

  • Studio: Home
  • Récompenses: First Prize Winner: 14th International Electroacoustic Music Festival, Bourges, 1986, program division.

Radio PAC: With Love, a fantasy for live cello and decorated cello cases (prepared tape), in memory of Myrtle Hollins Adelberg

Si vous voyez ce texte, c’est qu’Adobe Flash n’est pas installé dans votre navigateur ou que votre version n’est pas à jour, ou que JavaScript n’est pas activé. Une version courante d’Adobe Flash est nécessaire afin d’utiliser l’application Radio. Télécharger la dernière version d’Adobe Flash.
Page oeuvre@42557 générée par litk 0.600 le mardi 11 janvier 2011. Conception: DIM.