Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca

[traduction française non disponible]

A set of four short pieces composed entirely on the Bach motif. Thus the pitch content and ordering of all four movements is restricted to B flat, A, C, and B, a limitation which drove me to concentrate on the development of new rhythmic, dynamic and timbral means to generate compositional variety and interest. Each of the images is based on an algorithm utilizing the power of the Synclavier II Script language's built in bracket looping features. These loops may be nested, that is, it is possible for one or more loops to lie within the compass of larger loops. By carefully planning these loop structures, the composer may create sonic sequences of great length and complexity out of the sparsest of material. Thus one may explore that delicate balance between repetition and variety so critical to minimalist works. With “Quatre images sur le nom de Bach” I am making a statement about what I believe that balance to be. GD

  • Studio: McGill University Electronic Music Studio (Montréal, Québec)

Radio PAC: Quatre images sur le nom de Bach

Si vous voyez ce texte, c’est qu’Adobe Flash n’est pas installé dans votre navigateur ou que votre version n’est pas à jour, ou que JavaScript n’est pas activé. Une version courante d’Adobe Flash est nécessaire afin d’utiliser l’application Radio. Télécharger la dernière version d’Adobe Flash.
Page oeuvre@40185 générée par litk 0.600 le mardi 11 janvier 2011. Conception: DIM.