Communauté électroacoustique canadienne
Canadian Electroacoustic Community
GM-500 — 1455, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, QC, H3G 1M8, Canada
http://cec.sonus.ca - cec@sonus.ca

Works » By Title » H » The Healing Place VI (13:47 / 1987/1992)

Vivian Adelberg Rudow

for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, tape and optional narrator

The Healing Place VI was composed to the inspiration of a poem of the same title by Grace Cavalieri. Vivian added her own thoughts at the beginning and end through music.

The original 1987 instrumentation (performed numerous times), was flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, three live keyboard synthesizers, separate prerecorded tape part and narrator. Conducting was a great challenge, although in each performance they sounded together. When performed with live keyboards, extra people were needed to change keyboard patches. In 1992 to facilitate easier performances with conductors other then the composer, the live keyboard parts were combined with the existing tape part into a new prepared tape part. A few other changes were added. This is the 1992 (VI) version.

The music begins with a clarinet and tape duet, signifying being above the atmosphere. The acoustic instruments begin when the music portrays a transition to the earth as the earth is seen spinning, coming closer and closer. On the earth, the main thematic material for “The deep & dark green blue woods” begins with a viola solo.

  • Studio: Home

Listen to this work

Page oeuvre@45634 generated by litk 0.600 on Thursday, September 22, 2022. Development: DIM.